24 May 2019

Malaria-free certification: Algeria and Argentina

The World Health Organization has granted Algeria and Argentina certification of malaria-free status Malaria-free certification: Algeria and Argentina

On 22 May 2019, the World Health Organization (WHO) officially recognized Algeria and Argentina as malaria-free. Algeria is the second country in the WHO African Region and Argentina the second country in the WHO Region of the Americas to achieve WHO certification of malaria-free status [1]. 

A total of 38 countries and territories worldwide have now achieved malaria-free status [2].

A country can apply to the WHO for certification once criteria are met; countries must prove that local transmission of all types of human malaria parasites has been interrupted throughout the country for at least the past three consecutive years. Countries are also required to show they have an effective surveillance and response system in place to maintain zero malaria transmission [3].

The Country Information pages for Algeria and Argentina reflect that malaria is no longer a risk in these countries.


Heatwave alert for mainland Europe

Hot weather advice for travellers to mainland European countries Read more

E.coli advice for travellers to Egypt

Public Health England has issued advice to people travelling to Egypt Read more

DRC: Ebola outbreak declared a Public Health Emergency of International Concern

The meeting of the Emergency Committee convened by the WHO Director General under International Health Regulations took place on Wednesday 17 July 2019 Read more

Ghana: updated recommendations for polio vaccination

Circulating vaccine derived poliovirus type 2 (cVDPV) has been detected in an environmental sample during routine surveillance Read more

Rabies case in Vancouver Island, British Columbia, Canada

A case of human rabies as been reported following exposure to a bat on Vancouver Island Read more
Back to Top